Menu

My Most-Anticipated 2018 YA Book-to-Movie Adaptations

I’ll be honest…2017 was a pretty “meh” year for movies for me. With the exception of Cars 3 and The Last Jedi, there weren’t many movies I was thrilled about (I’m sure there were some GREAT movies that came out, but I just completely missed them). There also was not many book adaptations movies in 2017 that I was interested in, which definitely played a role in my excitement level.

Fun fact about me: I am one of those people that LOVE when books become movies. Some turn out to be BEAUTIFUL (ex. Catching Fire, TFIOS, Paper Towns) while others are just so bad it hurts (looking at you Percy Jackson). Nonetheless, whether the movie is blockbuster hit or an absolute flop, I love the experience of seeing books come to life. So the fact that 2018 holds some pretty awesome looking book-to-movie adaptions is really exciting for me!


I have 3 movies that I absolutely cannot wait to see in 2018 (and unfortunately none of them have trailers yet 😔)

The Darkest Minds (September 14) — I LOVE THESE BOOKS. Ever since I read them, I have wanted to see how they would translate on the screen. It’s such a cool and unique story and I am beyond excited to get a glimpse of how this movie is going to turn out!

All the Bright Places (TBA)– So the date still isn’t announced, but it’s ~supposed~ to come out in 2018. I really hope so because this is one of my favorite contemporaries. Of all the book-to-movie adaptations coming out, I feel like this one has a lot of potential to be a “big hit.”

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (November 16)– So it’s technically not a direct adaptation, but it is related to Harry Potter, so I’m counting it. I loved the first movie and will basically watch anything set in the Wizarding World, so obviously I’m psyched for this released.

So those are my top three most-anticipated, but here are some other movies that I haven’t read the book but am still excited to see!

Where’d You Go Bernadette?–May 11  (no trailer)

Love, Simon (Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda)–March 16

Every Day–February 23

Ready Player One–March 30

So are you excited for any of these movies? Did I leave any out? Let me know!

15 thoughts on “My Most-Anticipated 2018 YA Book-to-Movie Adaptations”

  1. The only ones I’ve read here are Where’d You Go Bernadette and Ready Player One, so I guess have some reading to do! Every Day looks really good.

  2. I must have been living under a rock because I didn’t even know there was going to be a Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda movie coming out! It looks amazing. I can’t bring myself to watch the Ready Player One trailer because it’s one of my all time favourite books and I just feel like the movie is going to ruin the magic 😦

    1. It’s not just you! I wasn’t aware that it was becoming a movie until I started doing research for this post! I have yet to read Ready Player One, but I have heard great things. Definitely want to try to read it before I see it!

  3. I’m super excited for Every Day! SUCH a fascinating concept. And I must be really daft, because I had no idea Love, Simon was based off of Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda despite watching the trailer 100000 times…
    I also loved The Last Jedi!! I felt very attacked because all of my friends/family absolutely hated it, particularly Rose ))): honestly, it was so refreshing to see how much diversity they incorporated into the storyline, plus John Boyega is my fave. ❤

    1. I was confused about the change in the title…I guess they thought Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda was too long (even though Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is even more of a mouthful in my opinion, lol).

      The Last Jedi is sooo good! It it neat to see the diversity interwoven into the story.

  4. OMG yessss!! I’m so excited for Love, Simon!! I haven’t actually read the book. . But I’m excited for the movie because it will finally get me to read the book!! And i didn’t even know that All the Bright Places was going to be a movie *gasp* !!!! that’s so cool i LOVE that book!!!
    Great post!!

  5. I am so, SO excited to see Love, Simon. I fell in love with the book and that trailer, and that cast… it promises to be really, REALLY good 🙂
    I also can’t wait for Every Day -even if I haven’t read the book just yet- and All The Bright Places. It is a bit frustrating that they haven’t given an official date just yet? :/

    1. Love, Simon does look really good. I’m not sure what is going on with All the Bright Places–it seems like they are being very secretive. Elle Fanning was casted forever ago though, so I’m not really sure. I’m just hoping its a 2018 release!

      1. Yes, I heard about Elle Fanning being casted, but, like you said, it was FOREVER AGO. There have been no news since then and… I’m curious to see where everything is at :/

  6. I just can’t wait for Love, Simon – I’m so excited I need it now haha. I’m also SUPER excited for The Hate U Give and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – need those now as well actually 😛

Leave a comment