2016 Trends and Predictions

2016 Predictions

After looking at so many Top Ten Tuesdays yesterday (seriously, my reader was full of them!), I noticed some trends in the new releases. I decided to look up what other people were saying about 2016, and decided to make some of my own trend predictions. This includes book things in general.

1. More and More and More Movie adaptations

Yes, this has been a trend already, but I feel like 2016 will hold a ton of books being picked up to be made into movies. I mean just look at all the ones coming out, Peregrine, 5th Wave, Fantastic Beasts, and so many more. I have a whole post on books I think would make great movies/tv shows, and I really hope one of them get picked up.

2. Fairytale Retellings will continue to grow

With the success of The Lunar Chronicles, there are more and more fairytale retellings. Not only that, but Sarah J. Maas (read: queen of books) has the 2nd book to her fairytale story A Court of Thorns and Roses. One of my anticipated releases is a Snow White retelling, The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine. There is even a story about Blackbeard (Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman). I hope that there is a good Aladdin retelling coming out, that is one I have yet to find!

3. Books Like Fangirl

I’m not really sure how to describe this, but there seem to be many books coming out that are well..about books. Specifically about girls who enjoy books or fandoms. The only book I have really ever read like that was Fangirl, and I makes me jump up and down to see more of these being released. First we have Bookishly Ever After, which is about a girl who wishes her life was like a YA novel. Then we have Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here where a distraught fangirl turns to fanfiction after her TV show is cancelled. I don’t know about you, but I am very excited to see how these turn out!

4. “Royal” Fantasy

I was scrolling through the YA 2016 Releases list on goodreads and there were so many royal families and fantasy. Between Throne of Glass and Game of Thrones, this type of story has skyrocketed. There’s Truthwitch, Crooked Kingdom, Ever the Hunted, and plenty more.

These are just a few of the things that I think /hope will be picking up in the new year! What do you think? Do you have any 2016 trends that you think will happen? Any that you hope happen? Let me know down in the comments!

 

 

6 thoughts on “2016 Trends and Predictions

  1. Claire Wells says:

    Great predictions. For some reason I feel like blogging is going to become more of a “thing” I mean, I hadn’t really joined the blogging community until now. And NOW there are Tons of bloggers, for sure more and more will be coming!

Leave a Reply

