Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern Review

Author: Cammie McGovern  Say What You Will

Publisher: Harper Teen

Published On: June 3, 2014

Genre: Contemporary

3 1/2Say What You Will

As you may know, for the last part of July, I have done a buddy read for the book Say What You Will. For the next few days there will be discussion posts about this book, but first I wanted to start off my review. Here is the goodreads summary if you want an idea of what this book is about.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

I will say I do have some mixed opinions about this book. There were some things that I loved, while other things that I didn’t. This book truly was very unique to me despite it’s flaws, and it wasn’t what I expected. From all the talk about this book, it sounded like it would take The Fault in Our Stars route, but it most definitely didn’t.

The characters in this book were very diverse and unique and that was the thing I loved most about this book. Cammie dared to be different by writing about a cerebral palsy patient and someone affected by OCD. They way she portrayed Amy and Matthew was truly wonderful. I loved how simple their relationship was in the beginning and seeing how it grew overtime. During this book, I learned a lot about two disabling disorders, and it was very interesting to see what these two had to go through.

The whole idea of having other students help Amy at school so she could make friends was amazing. At first, I thought every but Matthew would blow Amy off, but they really were there and I wish we would’ve had more development with them.  Overall, I loved the beginning of this plot, but as it went on, instead of getting better, it got worse.
Many people say they started disliking Amy when she started throwing all the tasks at Matthew to help his OCD. While it seemed very harsh in the book, I suppose that is a way you have to deal with it, and it really showed how much Amy cared about him to help him. Matthew was always so insecure and would just shut down, and while it was frustrating, I thought it accurately showed him as a character going what he was going through. The two had major miscommunication problems, and so many things could have been fixed if they would just talk.
The big “twist” of Amy being pregnant was when it started to go down hill for me. It sort of came out of nowhere and was really out of character. Everything afterward sort of dragged, and I feel the ending would’ve been much better if that twist was never enacted. There was all kind of build-up about the relationship of Amy and Matthew, and it ended very abruptly. There were many pages left in my book because of a preview, but I thought it was still part of the story. So when I came to the last page, I didn’t know it was the last page because there was no closure.
Finally, the main thing with this book was the 3rd person perspective. There were so many emotional parts of the book that you could see, but you could never really feel the emotion. I wanted to be inside the character’s heads as they went through all their hardships, but instead we just got an oustide glance.
Overall, I thought this was a great read, but there were many flaws. It was still a very intriguing read, and I would recommend it because the first half of the book is beautiful. If only it had continued like that the rest of the way.
P.S. I still have many thoughts on this book, so don’t think this is the end for the buddy read 🙂
7 thoughts on “Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern Review

Leave a Reply

