Akarnae by Lynette Noni Review

Author: Lynette Noni

Publisher: Pantera Press

Published On: February 1, 2015

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

This book makes me as excited as someone who just drank 3 glasses of dillyberry juice. (If you get that you are cool)

Thank goodness I won a copy of this book and wanted to get a review on it fast, because who knows when I would’ve picked it up. Akarnae truly blew me and my expectations away. For those of you who know nothing about Akarnae, here is my own little summary.

If Alex’s parents didn’t have to leave for eight months for a business trip, she would’ve never went to the International Boarding School and walked through a door that took her to another world. However, her parents are gone for eight months and she did walk through a door to Medora, and now she has to deal with it. Thankfully, she is picked up by two guys who take her back to Akarnae, a school for the gifted (gifted meaning blessed with awesome powers). Alex has to learn everything about this new world and try to survive the most insane classes. This world may seem fun at first, but there is only one concern in Alex’s mind: how will she get back to her home?

If that little description doesn’t want to make you pick up this awesome book, here’s something else. This book has aspects from books like Harry Potter and Chronicles of Narnia. I even see a bit of Divergent in it myself. So pretty much you are looking at an awesome training school that takes place in a different world. Akarnae has great world-building, adorable friendships, and a very compelling plot line. That’s about all I can give you without ruining the book, so I suggest stopping now if you haven’t read Akarnae, because the rest of this review is SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS. Seriously, you’ll want to read it yourself.

 

I have so much to say about this book, but I’ll narrow it down to three different sections.

First off, let’s talk about some of the characters. I loved seeing everything through Alex’s point of view, because we are learning everything about Medora with her. Every new fact we learn about Medora, we are right there learning it with her. You can really see how brave she is, especially with the way she reacts to everything thrown at her. Alex develops the most, and I love seeing her gradually start to love this new world she is in. Then there is Bear and Jordan, the two funniest friends a girl can have. They are so supportive and understanding with Alex, and this trio had me smiling like a little kid in a toy store. The dynamics between these friends are absolutely wonderful and I enjoyed every second of it. Finally, we have the elusive D.C. who we all sort of hate at first, but then realize how cool she actually is. The whole princess thing was such a surprise for me, because for a while I thought she was in on the whole lockdown thing. Really loved seeing her and Alex get to know each other at the end of the book.

The world that Lynette Noni’s has established in this book is astounding. There are so many little thoughts and details put into everything. All of the technology from the bubble doors to the medicine, everything is so though out and unique. Then of course we have the Library. This was such an interesting setting and I loved delving deeper and deeper into it. I really enjoyed the different levels at the school, especially when we got to see Alex do some expert level combat. Seeing all the classes was one of my favorite parts of the book.

Finally, the plot of this book was always surprising me. I loved how Aven always came and messed with Alex’s head. I honestly had no idea what/who he was until he revealed it himself. The thought of him being from Meya never crossed my mind, but everything made sense after it was explained. Also there was Darius as the headmaster. Halfway through I had a thought like that, but dismissed it thinking it wouldn’t happen, but of course it did. This book builds everything up very nicely, and you are always on the edge of your seat. All the journeys that Jordan, Bear, and Alex take to the Library all lead up to the exciting end.

Before I conclude this review, I just had to share some of my favorite parts/scenes from this book.

  • The trip to Bear’s house and his entire family
  • Learning more about Jordan at the gala
  • The relationship between Alex and Fletcher
  • KAIDEN AND ALEX (I reallllllly hope this becomes a thing later on)
  • The combat class obstacle course where Alex kicks butt

Overall, this really is a great book. A part of me wishes I didn’t read it so soon and fast, because now I have to wait so long for the second book. The ending was perfect, but I just want more. Does Alex make it back to her parents? How will Aven come back in the second book? Is Alex going to be going back and forth from Freya to Medora? So many questions!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Akarnae by Lynette Noni Review

Leave a Reply

