The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir (The Selection, #4)

BEST COVER EVER

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published On: May 5, 2015

Genre: Romance/Dystopian

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

We all thought that Kiera was done with The Selection series after The One, however she had other plans. This book follows Eadlyn, Maxon and America’s older twin daughter, as she goes through the selection process herself as she tries to choose a prince. Below is the Goodreads summary and beneth that is spoiler city, so don’t read the rest of the review if you haven’t read the book.

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible. But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought

The Selection series was kind of a guilty pleasure read for me. They weren’t the best books and they were extremely cheesy, but I still enjoyed reading them. Personally, I don’t think it was necessary to add on to this series; however, I was able to read a cute story, so I was fine with it. There are many likable aspects of this story just as there are unlikable aspects.

I enjoyed the characters, but Eadlyn and I have a love/hate relationship. While it’s admirable that she recognizes she deosn’t need a man, it got really annoying hearing her complaining the entire time. She is so shocked that the people of Illea don’t like her, but in reality it’s totally believable. I did find that she got a bit better as she went through the selection, and grew closer to some of the boys, but for the most part she annoyed me. My two favorite characters were Kile and Henri. These two are both adorable in their own ways, and I loved all their moments alone with the princess. For the rest of the selected, there are a few okay ones, but most of them are just straight up creeps. I actually really liked the fight scenes, because we saw how protective Maxon is over his daughter. Also, America and Maxon are just cute parents.

The interactions between Eadlyn and the selected are the better scenes of the book. I especially love the improtu baseball game and the talent show they put on for her. You think that Eadlyn will slowly change her mind, but she never really does until abruptly at the end. However, I think after the food throwing incident, she realized how big the problems were, and she put a bit more effort in. (Which by the way, I don’t udnerstand why everyone is angry about not being told what to do. Very confusing.)

I feel like I would have enjoyed this book much more if Eadlyn’s attitude changed quicker. America, for example, didn’t want to do the selection, but at least there was a steady development as she started liking Maxon. Eadlyn’s mind was set on her being the most powerful (she was very egotistical)and not needing anyone to help her rule. There were exceptions to these times of course. In the end, after pages upon pages of complaining, she finally realizes that she wants to finish the selection with a ring on her finger. Of course, when this realization was stated, it shocked me as there was no former evidence to her having many thoughts like that.

One more thing, and I’ll stop ranting about Eadlyn. She is so manipulative. I mean she tried to break up Ahren and his girlfriends when they were literally *perfect*. I loved the twins’ relationship with one another and their closeness, but you don’t meddle with your twin’s love life like that. Eadlyn didn’t care what Ahren would feel, she just wanted to keep her in the palace with her. This lead the Ahren eloping which caused America to have a heart attack. I SWEAR IF AMERICA DIES WHEN HER STORY IS ALREADY OVER I AM GOING TO BE VERY MAD.

Overall, this was an okay read. I still like the idea of the selection and it’s enjoyable enough to sit down and read it. Mostly all the scenes with Kile or Henri were my favorite. Don’t go into this expecting to fall in love with the main character, because you most definitely won’t. If you hated reading from America’s point of view, just wait until you meet her daughter. I am however exicted to see this new and improved Eadlyn in the following book. It’ll be interseting to see if my opinions of her change once she actually starts trying at the selection. Nice and easy read that doesn’t involve to much thought. 

 

6 thoughts on “The Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. bruacioly says:

    The Selection was such a guilty pleasure for me, I have a feeling this one would be like that as well. I don’t know why, but I’m compelled to read it despite all the negatives. It is one of those series escape series for me. I’m curious to see how I feel about this new set of characters now, though.

    Bruna @ Bruna Writes

Leave a Reply

