Reasons Fairest is the Best Novella

A few months ago, Marissa Meyer released Fairest, a novella to her Lunar Chronicles series. This series is one of my favorites, so I was very excited to read the companion. I have read a few novellas before, and I guess they were okay. I went into Fairest with low expectations, because I knew novellas weren’t always the best. A few pages in I was able to tell that this wasn’t going to be an ordinary companion novel. There are reasons upon reasons as to why Fairest is an extraordinary novella.

1. The Length of the Novella

This isn’t just a 50 page story that is only sold as ebooks. No, Fairest is the size of a normal (yet small) book with its 230 pages. The story is more than an extra scene the author had to clip out like most other novellas. Fairest actually provides the reader with a lot of information.


2. Getting Inside the Antagonist’s Head

Oh my goodness. Queen Levana is the craziest psychopath I have ever read. Yeah, there are dark and twisted villains, and then there is this chick. Being able to see Levana’s thoughts adds so much more depth to the series. This novella’s purpose wasn’t to show you how she is a misunderstood villain who has good motives, but rather it increases your hate for the antagonist even more. I seen people complaining how they didn’t sympathize with her, but I honestly think we weren’t supposed to (unless we were sympathizing with her craziness maybe). This story really just shows us what goes through her mind when she makes decisions that affect our main characters.


3. Learning the Background and Motives

I love to read a good back story. Something that give us a glimpse of the past that explains why someone does something later in their life is always exciting to read. It’s like connecting the dots between one point to another. When Levana was little, her (evil) sister Channary pushed her into the fire, causing major distortions to her body and face. Because of this incident, the rest of her life she makes she is hidden behind a beautiful glamour. She even goes as far as breaking all the mirrors on Luna. I thought it was very interesting to see this as well her “relationship” with Evret, because it connects in some ways to the Lunar Chronicles.


4. Connection with the Original Series

This is the point that really excites me. Fairest connects so well to The Lunar Chronicles. There were so many moments in this book that I was gasping.  For example, one moment was when they say that Channary baby’s name is Selene. I’m not sure if Channary’s name was ever mentioned in The Lunar Chronicles, so when I saw the name Selene I kind of freaked out because  it’s Cinder. I don’t know, the thought just didn’t register when I started reading this that we would get Cinder’s back story. Also, when we found out Evret’s baby was Winter, I was happy then too. These weren’t the only moments though, because there were so many other connections. There was a line talking about Luna doctors disappearing, so that had to be the doctor that works at the palace. Another line said how Selene would be paired with Kai, which just made me very giddy. I also think there was a line referencing Cress as well. These are all connections that add to the book, so the novella wasn’t a pointless story.


Sorry for a bit of rambling, but Fairest was seriously great. I was so excited that Marissa Meyer put so much effort into this so we could see more of Levana, who is a very complex character with many layers. For those of you who love The Lunar Chronicles, this is perfect for you. There’s even a excerpt from Winter, which I haven’t read yet. I didn’t want to get even more excited for it, because I would probably burst, and NOVEMBER IS SO FAR AWAY I CAN’T TAKE IT.

Leave a Reply

