J.K. Rowling Book Eight Speculations

Yeah, you read the title right. The past few days there has been all kinds of buzz about the newest J.K. Rowling interview on the Today Show. It has been eight years since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was published, and every fan has the sasme question. Will there ever be more to our beloved series? There has been a lot of speculation that she has been writing a possible book eight, especially since she has been keeping a low profile. When asked directly, she replied no, and that she hasn’t been writing another Harry Potter book.

All of you fans just died a little inside didn’t you? Rowling, however, did leave us with a small glimmer of hope with this quote.

“I’ve always said I’m not going to say I definitely won’t because, because I don’t see why I should say that. You know, it’s my world, and I might choose to step back into it. And in a way, I am stepping back into it.”  

At the end she was referring to Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, since it is in the process of becoming a movie. But she didn’t deny the possibility of re-entering the Wizarding World. Even though another book wouldn’t follow the story of Harry, Ron, and Hermione, it would still be centered in this world. Maybe second generation Potters, or even a prequel? Who knows.

I personally think that of all the authors I have read, the only one who would really go back and re-enter their world would be J.K. Rowling. Other authors put the story to rest after the last book, but she always releasing little shorts. As much as I love Harry Potter, I am glad that she said no more of the golden trio. I love them of course, but I feel their story was wrapped up perfectly in the epilogue. Of course, if for some reason another story about them was released, I would read it immediately, because it Harry Potter! 

What do you guys think of the speculations? Do you think it will happen or is she just giving us false hope? Are you like me, and think that everything ended nicely, but would still read more anyways? 

4 thoughts on “J.K. Rowling Book Eight Speculations

  1. hermionefowl says:

    I think she just likes to say things like that, but I don’t know if it’ll happen. Then again, she put so much work into that world. How could you give it up? I got so excited at the title, that was mean of you 😛

Leave a Reply

