Burn, Rewrite, or Reread

I saw this over at Stephanie’s Book Reviews and I knew I wanted to do it too. Basically, you randomly take three books and you have to decide which you would burn, which you would reread, and which you would rewrite. I think in the original rules you are only supposed to do three rounds, but I don’t like to follow the rules. I was having so much fun with it, I did a few extra rounds. Some people used random.org, but I found it easier to go to my Goodreads ‘read’ shelf and hit the random sort button at the bottom. I then would just pick the first three that came up.

ROUND 1

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)   The Catcher in the Rye    Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

City of Ashes           Catcher in the Rye       Allegiant

Burn City of Ashes. I didn’t hate this book by any means, but the Mortal Instruments isn’t my favorite series.

Rewrite Allegiant. This book was kind of a let down finale for me. I wouldn’t rewrite it because of you know what if you read it, because I thought that was a good move on Veronica’s part (even though it killed me). But to me, there were so many other things in this book that disappointed me, and I just want another ending to this trilogy.

Reread The Catcher in the Rye. I can’t burn or rewrite a classic like this, it would just be wrong!

 

ROUND 2

Let it Snow   Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet, #1)     Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2)

Let it Snow               Ender’s Game        Clockwork Prince

Burn Let it Snow. These are just short Christmas stories that I could live without (even though one is a John Green story).

Rewrite Ender’s Game. I liked this book, but I got a little bored at some times and the description of some of the things in this book really confused me.

Reread Clockwork Prince. I liked The Infernal Devices much much much more than the Mortal Instruments. I would definitely like to reread this series one day.

 

ROUND 3

The Host (The Host, #1)  The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5)    The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus, #4)

The Host              Blood of Olympus          House of Hades

Burn The Host. This was a very easy decision.

Rewrite Blood of Olympus. As you may know, I was very very disappointed with the finale.

Reread House of Hades. I think this is my favorite book out of all of Rick’s books, so I would happily re-read this.

 

ROUND 4

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)    I Was Here  The Elite (The Selection, #2)

Deathly Hallows            I Was Here                The Elite

Burn I Was Here. I really don’t want to burn this book, because I did enjoy it. However, it wasn’t my favorite book ever.

Rewrite The Elite. I enjoy The Selection series, so I couldn’t just get rid of the second book. However, I would rewrite this one to make America less annoying as a character.

Reread Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Do I even need to explain my reasoning?

 

 ROUND 5

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)      Twilight (Twilight, #1)    If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

Isla & Ever After                Twilight                   If I Stay

Burn Twilight. I could live without Twilight and be perfectly okay.

Rewrite Isla and the Happily Ever After. I love Stephanie Perkins books, but this one fell short for me. If I could be rewritten at the level of the other two, I would have liked it a lot more.

Reread If I Stay. I might have chosen rewrite for this if it was with different books, but I would be fine with rereading.

That was so much fun! I would be open to doing this again one day once I have some more titles on my read list!

 

7 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, or Reread

  1. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    So fun! My first reaction to Allegiant is to burn it…and every copy in existence…but I think a good re-write would be great, since I did enjoy the other 2 books. I also agree that the Isla book wasn’t as good as the first 2 in the series.

Leave a Reply

