The 100 NO SPOILERS

Today I come to you after a week hiatus with a new tv show under my belt. The past few days, I have been binge watching CW’s The 100. I read the book first, and was going to review it, but then I saw the show. This doesn’t happen to me often, but it did this time; the tv show absolutely trumps the book. Let me tell you, the book was enjoyable, and I really liked it. I went into the show thinking it would be pretty good. After the first few episodes, I knew that the show was much better. The show really just took the idea of the book, and added onto it, which is what makes it a great watch.

This post contains no spoilers for the show. My main purpose is to tell you what the show is about, and why you need to be watching it. If you are someone who has seen the show, I will be making another post chock full of spoilers as I explain my thoughts with more detail. Without further ado, let me show you the brilliance of The 100.

97 years ago, Earth was destroyed by a nuclear war. Since radiation made it impossible to live on the ground, nations went to space. For nearly one hundred years, the remaining civilization has been living on what they call the Ark, a space station orbiting the Earth. Rules are very harsh on the Ark since they have to keep the population in control. The smallest of crimes can lead to one’s execution. If you happened to be under 18, you lived in prison until your birthday came and they put you on trial. After 97 years of living in space, the Ark’s supplies are running low. It is decided that they will take 100 of the criminals and send them to Earth. If they die from radiation, it didn’t matter cause they were criminals anyway. If they didn’t, the Ark knew it was safe for everyone to go back to the ground. With the human race entirely in their hands, these 100 teenagers must go through the terrifying journey of being back on the ground.

I know it sounds like some stupid teenage sci-fi love story, but I assure that’s not what it is. Yes it involves teenagers, a slight love story, and sci-fi feature, but don’t label it just yet. There are many underlying themes in this show, and a major one being how humanity destroyed the planet. It is very interesting to see how everything plays out after they reach the grounds.

While watching the first couple of episodes, you may be a little wary as to where the show is going. I promise, things get really intense really fast. I’ve watching this show so much in the past few days because I couldn’t stop. The end of every episode makes you want more, so you watch more. I can’t tell you how many times I thought This would really be an episode cliffhanger if you had to wait a whole week for the next show. It’s that good.

If you haven’t seen this show, I definitely recommend checking it out. Right now there are two seasons, and the third is coming out in October. I almost think this is up there in my top 5 shows at least. Please don’t look at this as just another one of those shows, because it really might surprise you.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The 100 NO SPOILERS

Leave a Reply

