The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

You probably weren’t expecting this review to be up were you? Well, I wasn’t either. This is how it all started…

 I was staring intently at my shelf, brainstorming ideas for new posts. I pulled out a few books to look at them and see if I could think of anything. Then all of a sudden, my eyes floated to The Lightning Thief. An idea sparked, so I started working on it (you’ll have to wait and see). After I finished writing up my idea, my eyes went back to the book. Before I knew it, my hands were extending to grab it, while my brain was telling “NO you have other things to read.” Needless to say, I didn’t listen. I’ll just read a few pages. Next thing I know, I’ve been sitting on the couch for an hour and I’m 150 pages in.

 So yeah, that happened. But I’m kind of happy about being back in this world again, and now I can tell you all my thoughts about it. For those of you who haven’t read The Lightning Thief yet, this review doesn’t spoil the plot, but may have inferences to future events. I will leave you with the beginning of this book, and then you might have enough sense to start this great series.

“Look, I didn’t want to be Half Blood. If you’re reading this because you think you might be one, my advice is: close this book right now. Believe whatever lie your mom or dad told you about your birth, and try to lead a normal life. “


 

Author: Rick Riordan  The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Date Published: March 6, 2006

It’s been a good three to four years since I read Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Between then and now, I’d forgotten quite a bit about the books. I remembered the important stuff, but none of the extra details that Riordan strings throughout his books. After reading the first page, I was sucked in and revisiting one of my favorite places. I forgot how much I missed seeing everything through Percy’s point of view. When we get to the Heroes of Olympus series, the perspective is constantly changing, which is one of the many things I love about the series, however it was refreshing seeing it through only Percy’s eyes.

One of the best things I got from rereading this book was seeing young Percy and Annabeth. I truly forgot how much they just didn’t like each other through half of this book. They are constantly biting each other’s head off and picking little arguments. I had also forgotten how Percy was when he was so young. During this book, he is learning everything about demigods with us and is just now learning to fight. While he is pretty good for a newbie, he still only twelve and has a lot more to improve on.

I enjoyed  how light-hearted this book was. Yeah, there were still fights and impeding death at times, but it is very different from the other books. I’m not saying that in a bad way at all, I just like how we see the tone and mood of this series shift as it becomes darker and darker. This was just a nice little quest that was fun to read again. It definitely isn’t my favorite, but that’s just because Rick Riordan has some really great books later on down the road/

One thing I forgot about this book was how conscious they were. They avoid saying the names of the gods and monsters. Every time Percy says a god’s name, someone else in the scene looks up to the sky nervously. While there are many things that change through all the books, Percy’s attitude doesn’t. He is just as sassy toward the gods as he is when he is older, which I love.

For those of you who haven’t read this series, you need to get on it quickly. Just because it is classified as a middle grade book doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy it! If you think it is too childish, stick around for a while longer in the series. Things get real serious and dark, especially in The Heroes of Olympus. Rick Riordan grew with his audience, and made it more fit for the readers. This is a very fast read that introduces you to this whole new world that you’ll be glad you are in. It may seem crazy, the Greek gods in a modern time, but once you read it, you don’t have a second thought about it.

4 thoughts on “The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. sumlynnnguyen says:

    I read The Percy Jackson and the Olympian series around the end of elementary school and loved it! I have read a couple of books from The Heroes Olympus, and they’re really good (more ya from what I remember). I actually think that spin-off is completed now, I need to pick it back up! Really nice review!

Leave a Reply

