Top Ten Tuesday: ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS

fb76c-toptentuesday

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they give a certain topic or question and you have to try to list your top ten. This week, you had to pick your all time favorite books from the past three years, or five years if you needed an extension.

Before we get started, let me tell you how difficult this is. You are going to look at this list and just think I copy and pasted the most popular books because I was too lazy to actually think about it. This isn’t case. I stared at my shelf, then my kindle, and then my goodreads. These are all very popular books and pretty plain answers, but there are popular for a reason! I tried to pick one from last three years that have really affected me in some way. I’ll explain my answers more below.

Oh, and these are not numbered in order. You make me pick my top ten, and then want me to order them? Are you trying to rip my heart out?

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling- Of course all of the Harry Potter books are amazing, but if I had to choose a favorite, it has to been the last one. Everything has been leading to this and we get this huge epic battle and then this happy ending that makes your heart swell. All of the little strings are tied up into perfect little bows, and while you are sad it’s over, you are so happy you got to be apart of the experience.

2. Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan I chose this book to represent Percy Jackson as a whole just because I love this book. It’s a three-way tie between Last Olympian, Mark of Athena, and House of Hades for my favorite, but I think Mark of Athena has a bit more of an edge. Maybe because it’s the first time we really see Percy and Annabeth together since the last series or maybe it’s because of the way Rick Riordan broke my heart at the end.

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Of course I loved this book, but I also really loved the impact it had on my reading style. This was the first true dystopia novel I had read, and it opened this whole new world of literature. Then after reading dystopia, I learned how much I love science fiction in general and it’s all because I read this one book. It’s amazing how influential something can be in your life.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth I can actually say that this is my favorite of the series since this trilogy has a bit of a downward spiral. This was the first book I read after The Hunger Games trilogy and it confirmed my new love for science fiction dystopias.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green This was the most emotional book for me. After it, I continued to read more of John Green’s books and start watching him on YouTube, which holds to be one of the best decisions ever. More than likely I wouldn’t have stumbled across vlogbrothers without TFIOS and I wouldn’t have all my funny John Green memories.

6. Cress by Marissa Meyer Is it really necessary for me to explain how amazing this book is? I remember hearing about the first book Cinder and was very concerned with how weird it sounded. I mean, a Cinderella story where the main girl is a cyborg? But no, it was amazing, and was one of the first books to shatter my expectations. Cress is my favorite just because it’s a combination of all the characters so far and I love when books combine POVs.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell- Most. Realistic. Book. Ever. How Rainbow Rowell was able to relate Cath to all of us in just one book astounds me. It is a really unique book. I mean think about young adult books for a second. How many of them have a main character who loves and writes about books? Not that many. We are all Cath.

8. The Help by Kathryn Stocket- Love the book. Love the movie. Love the idea. Love the themes. Love the characters. I have no words to describe this book.

9. In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken- Yes, I finished the Darkest Minds trilogy. Yes, it was very hard to pick a favorite. There will be long reviews for each book up soon, so I won’t ramble about the amazingness too long on here. All I will say is that I am immensely happy I picked this series up.

10. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Maragret Stohl- I decided to throw and oddball into this list. Why Beautiful Creatures you ask? Because around three years ago I read the first book and fell in love. It was one of my favorites at the time. As time went on, I forgot about and I wouldn’t consider it a favorite anymore when comparing it to other books I have read. But it definitely was a favorite for a while, so I had to include it.

Well, there’s my list of favorites. While making this post, I thought of some other great books out there and it physically hurt me to leave them out. So what are some of the books on your top ten favorites?

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS

Leave a Reply

