All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Author: Jennifer Niven

Publisher: Knopf

Release Date: January 6

Rating: 4 out of 5

“All Finch wanted in life was to be dead. One afternoon while teetering on the ledge at the top of the school, he meets Violet. She, like Finch, just wants to die. As they start working together on a school project that requires to wander around Indiana, they grow closer than they would have ever thought. On their journey, Violet learns about all the things that there is to live for, and wants to have a happy life with Finch. However, Finch is still set on dying soon, and convincing him otherwise will be hard.”

Oh. My. Gosh. I’m not sure how to explain how much I enjoyed this book. Before I actually read it, I had seen some negative reviews and figured it would be one of those “eh okay” books. I was definitely wrong with that prediction. I can see why people may not have liked it, but to me, there are so many things to enjoy about this book.

First off, the characters. Finch was a very unique and interesting character, and I haven’t read a book in a while with someone like him. The way his mind worked and how he acted with so many different personalities was fascinating to read. Violet wasn’t as interesting, but I still enjoyed her story and seeing how she dealt with things. However,I was super frustrated with her when she was very secretive of her relationship with Finch and how she hid him from everyone.

The story started off good, but it definitely picked up and got good after the assignment was assigned. I loved seeing these two characters grow close throughout their whole adventure. I myself had two favorite wanderings that they visited. The first one was the roller coaster because it sounded really fun and made a fun scene in the book. The second was the “Before I Die” wall because I had prior knowledge of it and I was really important for them to see that.

While the main characters of this story were great, there were definitely a fair share of jerky characters as well. First off, everyone in the school besides Finch’s two friends were absolutely horrible. In their people, they listed the top most suicidal person and told Finch to go jump. I mean who does that? Besides the school, we also have to recognize FInch’s dad. He beat the kids, left them because he didn’t like them, and then invites them to see his “new and improved” family.

The relationship between Violet and Finch was something I loved in this book. It was obvious and very expected, but they still started with a bumpy path. The way they talked to one another was adorable. In fact, one of the best scenes is when they are on the roof shouting Dr. Seuss quotes.

It is time to start talking about the ending. When Finch locked himself away, I was starting to get worried. For awhile after he left, I thought that was how it would end without us never truly knowing what had happened to him.  As soon as I had seen the post-it note with a violet drawn on it, I knew he had died. (SPOILER FOR DIVERGENT…. It reminded me of how Veronica Roth stopped saying whose perspective it was in after Tris died…. END OF SPOILER) Once Violet went to the Blue Hole we got to see what really happened.

Overall, I think that this is a great book and I think many people would like it. If you are someone who likes Looking for Alaska or sad love stories, this is a perfect book for you. It is very emotional. Sometimes you are laughing along with the characters, and another you are ready to cry.

 

2 thoughts on “All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

