School Books “Yay!….or Nay” List

So in honor of the school season I have decided to list some of my favorite books I have read in school…and some of the ones I absolutely hated. We’ll start this list off on a positive note, and we’ll talk about my favorites.

1. The Hunger Games

This is not a lie. A few months after falling in love with the series, my teacher told me that we were reading the Hunger Games during class. Obsessed little me almost had a hard attack. I literally got to spend an hour of my day reading and discussing one of my favorite books. Let’s just say, that was the easiest test of my life.

2. The Giver

This also was one of the few gems of the books I have read for school. This book was very entertaining, and I often read ahead during class. The book was so unique to me, and the idea fascinated me. I loved reading about the memories. I have yet to see the movie, so tell me, was it good? Leave comments below about your opinions.

3. The Watsons go to Birmingham

I fell in love with this book as soon as I started reading it. I loved how history was tied in, yet it was still an entertaining funny novel. This was one book that opened me up to historical fiction more, and I am very grateful for that.

4. The Mysterious Benedict Society

I actually technically didn’t read this for school, but I read it for a extracurricular activity so I’m going to count it. I guess this book can be considered science fiction, and at the time I didn’t like stuff like that. However, know that I think about it, this was probably one of the first GOOD science fiction books I read when I was younger. The whole concept tied me in, and I remember people looking at me and asking why am I reading such a big book, and me thinking that it was going by really fast. One day, I might have to pick up the book again to see how good it is now.

Alright, so these are some of my favorites books that are like, actualy longer books. Of course I have plenty of other favorites like Junie B. Jones, magic Tree House, Case of Stripes, but these were some more young-adult or middle grade books.

So now we get to the books I didn’t like…at all.

1. The Single Shard

This books, was the worst thing ever. I never wanted to read it, and I could barely pay attention. It was just an uninteresting story to me. I have no words to explain my dislike of it.

2. Tale of Despereaux

I remember my teacher reading this book to the class a little bit everyday. Then we watched the movie. I hated both of these things. At the time, I didn’t really care about a mouse, so all I did during class was suck on the suckers my teacher gave me.

3. Nothing but the Truth

This was another book I had to read for an extra activity, and I remember just waiting for it to get good. Needless to say, it never got good.

4. Adventures of Edward Tulane

I can’t even remember why I hated this book, I just did.

So yeah those are some of the school books I have loved and hated. Of course there are probably many more in both categories, but these just stuck out to me. So what were your favorite school books? Least favorites? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

