If I Stay Book-to-Movie Adaptation Review

She liked classical music. He was in a rock band, and was like the rest of her family. Mia and Adam were complete opposites, yet they were perfect for each other. Everything was great, until one afternoon. In just a couple of seconds, Mia’s whole life was changed. She has so many hard choices to make. How could she live a life without her family, but at the same time, how could she possibly leave Adam?

I saw If I Stay a while ago, and it looked pretty interesting. Then I found out that there was a movie in the making, and I made my decision. I didn’t want to have to wait months for one of my favorite books to be adapted, so I didn’t read it then. I decided a couple of days ago that I wanted to see the movie this weekend, so I decided to read the book finally. I have never been so happy of a decision before. It only took me a few hours to read the book, and immediately I read the sequel. Then a few days later, I saw the movie. I do not know what I would’ve done if I read this book months ago. I didn’t even want to wait a few days to see the movie, so waiting a couple months would’ve been torture.

Alright now we can get into the actually review of this adaptation.

First off, the lines in the movie were exactly the same from this book. I have never seen an adaption that followed a book so closely. It really like they didn’t have a script, they just had the book they were reading from. The movie followed the story amazingly. I was honestly nervous about how they would show all the flashbacks and the out of body experience, but they did it perfectly. I only had a one probably about the plot, and I will talk more about it later.

Secondly, the cast. They portrayed the characters so well, and it wasn’t just Mia and Adam. Kim, the Grandparents, Willow, and the Parents were all perfect. Kat and Denny (Mia’s parents) were one of my favorite parts of the book and movie. In normal YA books, the parents are just gone, while these parents were present the whole time. There wasn’t one character in the whole movie that didn’t feel right. The cast members were the characters.

This movie was filled with so many emotional parts. You laughed when the parents were hiding behind the window when Adam and Mia came back from their date, and you cried when the wreck happened. There are so many parts in this movie that were just so beautiful. I know these aren’t all, but here are some of my favorite emotional moments.

  • The whole wreck in general just tore my heart to pieces. The way you see how confused Mia is and her reactions when she learns that her parents and brother has died are heart-breaking.
  • The family and friends coming to see Mia in the hospital. When her Grandpa comes in and tells her that he understands he she wants to go, and that it’s okay to leave had me with tears rolling down my face. Also, when Kim comes in and says that she still has a family is she stays.
  • Finally, when Mia learns her parents and brother are dead, and she’s crying in the hallway.

One of my favorite parts in the movie is the whole montage at the end before she wakes up. The whole scene was cinematically beautiful. The way they showed all the memories at once and had both the cello and guitar playing in the background was an impacting moment in the movie. It was perfect at building up the suspense.

Finally, the only real problem I had was this movie was Adam talking to her. I know there were other things that were incorrect, like how her Dad dead on the scene or how her brother was at a different hospital, but Adam’s spill was very important. If they are planning on making another movie, they missed a KEY part. Adam never said that if she needed to erase them all, he would go away. That we would be okay as long as she lived. This is the main part of Where She Went, since she leaves Adam. My prediction is that if they make another movie, they will make some sort of flashback or mention it because I fell like it is imperative to the plot of sequel.

Well those are my thought on the movie. Of course I have many more, but I can only write down so many. Sorry if this review is a little late, it took me some time to get all my thoughts together. So how did you guys feel about this movie? What were you favorite and least favorite parts? Let me know!!

2 thoughts on “If I Stay Book-to-Movie Adaptation Review

Leave a Reply

